The WordPress Blog Directory » Article Details

Green Bay QB Aaron Rodgers wins NFL MVP award

Date Added: February 05, 2012 02:10:26 PM
Author: newnfljerseycheap
Category: News and Media: Politics
INDIANAPOLIS (AP)—Green Bay quarterback Aaron Rodgers won the 2011 Associated Press NFL Most Valuable Player award in a landslide. Rodgers earned 48 votes to two for New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees in balloting by a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the Cleveland Browns NFL jerseys. The Packers star is the first Green Bay player honored since Brett Favre concluded a run of three straight seasons as MVP in 1997. “It means a lot to be recognized as a consistent player and contributing on my team,” Rodgers said. “I think it’s an award that relies on a player having the support of his teammates, obviously, guys blocking, guys running, guys catching, guys making plays. But I’m very honored to receive the award.” Rodgers led the NFL in passing with a 122.5 rating built on 45 touchdown passes, six interceptions and a 68.3 completion percentage as the Packers went 15-1 and won the NFC North. He joins former Packers Bart Starr, Jim Taylor and Paul Hornung in being selected MVP. “People really count on me to be consistent each week, to play well. Knowing that my performance, the fact that I touch the ball every play, I have a direct impact on the game, the way I play,” Rodgers said. “And if I’m playing consistent and doing things I know I’m supposed to do, we’ve been able to have some success because of it.” Rodgers is the third consecutive quarterback voted MVP, joining New England’s Tom Brady (2007, 2010) and Indianapolis’ Peyton Manning (2008,2009). San Francisco’s Jim Harbaugh won the coach of the year award for leading the 49ers back to the playoffs. In his first season as an Dallas Cowboys NFL jerseys head coach, Harbaugh guided the 49ers to a 13-3 mark and the NFC Championship game. They beat New Orleans in the first round of the playoffs before losing the conference title game to the New York Giants. A former NFL quarterback and successful coach at Stanford University, Harbaugh earned 45 votes from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the NFL. He easily outdistanced Green Bay’s Mike McCarthy, who received three votes, and Denver’s John Fox, who got two. Atlanta’s Mike Smith was the last man to win the award in his initial season as an NFL head coach, in 2008. Drew Brees’ record-setting season earned the New Orleans quarterback offensive player of the year award. Brees shattered Dan Marino’s 27-year-old mark by passing for 5,476 yards, and his 468 completions broke Peyton Manning’s 2010 record of 450. Brees finished the season completing 71.6 percent of his passes, breaking his own 2009 NFL record (70.6). He also surpassed 300 yards passing for seven straight games and 13 times during the season, both beating league marks he already held. Brees, the 2008 top offensive player, received 43 votes , while Green Bay quarterback Aaron Rodgers got the other seven votes. Carolina Panthers quarterback Cam Newton won the offensive rookie of the year award and Denver Broncos linebacker Von Miller won a two-man race with 49ers linebacker Aldon Smith for defensive rookie of the year. Newton is the second straight No. 1 overall draft pick to take the honor, after St. Louis Rams jerseys quarterback Sam Bradford won it last year. The first Panther to take the award, Newton received 47 votes to three for Cincinnati quarterback Andy Dalton. Newton set an NFL record for touchdowns rushing in a season by a quarterback with 14 and became the first player in league history to throw for 4,000 yards and rush for 500. Miller, the No. 2 overall pick in the draft, sparked a defensive turnaround in Denver with his steady and sometimes spectacular play. He teamed with quarterback Tim Tebow to energize the Broncos, who rallied from a 2-5 record to the AFC West title and a playoff win over Pittsburgh. Detroit Lions quarterback Matthew Stafford won the comeback player of the year award. Stafford fought through injuries in his first two seasons, then threw for more than 5,000 yards in 2011 to lead Detroit to its first playoff berth in 12 years. Stafford is the first Lion and the ninth quarterback—four straight—to win the award since its inception in 1998. Baltimore linebacker Terrell Suggs was named defensive player of the year. On a team featuring longtime stars Ray Lewis and Ed Reed, Suggs stood out most to earn 21 votes, seven more than Minnesota end Jared Allen. Suggs had 70 tackles, including 14 sacks, and was a force all over the field from his hybrid linebacker-end position. He also forced seven fumbles and had two interceptions as the Ravens went 12-4 to win the AFC North. Baltimore allowed 266 points, third fewest in the Denver Broncos NFL jerseys.    
You must be logged in to leave a rating.
(0 votes)

No Comments Yet.

You must be logged in to leave a Comment.
Sponsor Links
include_once("analyticstracking.php") '; ?>